Skip to main content

Meet Our Team

Thanks and appreciation to all of the people that make Baltic.

Baltic Crew member speaking to visitors
Photo: John Mckenzie

Baltic Crew

Jenny Alderson / Anthony Barstow / Reshma Begum / Nancy Daykin / Maria Fury / Darren Garrett / Stephen Haley / Becca Heath / Matthew McGarry / Jenny McNamara / Simon-Peter Moth / Brighid Mulley / Kelwim Pereira Nogueira / Niamh Pirie / Ariana Preston / David Reynolds / Thom Sansom / Judith Stevenson / Elysha Thompson / Rod Urquhart / Laura Young / Tina Zen / Michael Robson / Evie Schluttenhofer Lees


Relief Duty Managers (Baltic)

Jenny Alderson / Maria Fury / Becca Heath / Ariana Preston

Building Services

Head of Facilities: Ross Lloyd
Facilities Manager: Ameera Ahmed
Facilities Technician: Barry Atkinson
AV & Events Technician: Scott Hendry
Building Services Supervisor: Tony O' Rourke
Security Supervisor: John Dickinson
Security Assistant: Mick Willis / Tony Khossa 


Head of Finance: Angela Blades
Finance Team Leader: Gareth Howe
Finance Assistant: Fiona Spencer-Harvey / Cheryl Stephenson / Joanne Robins
Head of People and Culture: Chris Errington-Barnes
People and Culture Coordinator: Mikail Keysa
National Director of Contemporary Visual Arts Network: Paula Orrell
Contemporary Visual Arts Network North East Regional Director: Adam Pugh

Development & Enterprise

Head of Enterprise & Development: Rebecca Surtees-Brown
Development Manager: Katie Martin
Hospitality Operations Manager: Jess Nicklin
Senior Events Planner: Ece Karaalioglu
Senior Events Planner (Maternity Cover): Nicola Miller
Events Manager: Jose Cascajo Mendez
Wedding & Events Planner: Edie Miller
Events Assistant: Leonie Bellini
Events & Café Chef: Moses Munyua
Cafe Manager: Gary Dodds
Kitchen Manager: Arkadiusz Podsaba
Cafe Team: Arya Mobaraki / Vanesa Lozano / Wiam Aouf 


Head of Communications & Digital Engagement: Craig Astley
Marketing & Communications Manager: Robyn Taylor McEwan 
Marketing & Communications Officer: Eve Ireland
Marketing & Communications Officer: Dean Garside


Interim Head of Learning & Civic Engagement: Amanda McMahon
Producer (Communities): Annie Bedford
Producer (Education): Amanda McMahon
Producer (Documentation, Library & Archive): Sarah Bouttell
Assistant Producer: Lizi Lampart, David Maguire
Head of Visitor Experience: Hayley Duff
Visitor Experience Managers (Front of House):
Andrew Paget / Lee Stokoe/ Michael Hassan 


Head of Trading: Sara Ley
Shop Manager: Andrew Smith
Retail Operations Manager: Becky Eltringham
Sales Assistant: Grace Hooker / Euan Lynn / Anna Richardson / Alex Sickling / Adam Wilson


Curator Team Leader: Niomi Fairweather 
Curator: Emma Dean
Curator: Katharine Welsh
Assistant Curator: Rose Mcmurray
Production Manager & Registrar: Sophie Richardson
Senior Technician: Jemma Hind, Frances Gallagher


Director: Sarah Munro
Director of Enterprise and Public Value: Kate Gray
Governance and Ethics Manager: Nancy Ogunbiyi


Kirsty Lang, (Chair) Journalist and Broadcaster
Kerry Campbell, Independent Curator
Nicola Catterall, Chartered Accountant
Jasmina Cibic Artist
Anthony Donaldson, Senior Economist
Cllr. Catherine Donovan, Deputy Leader of Gateshead Council
Jamie Gamble, Senior Partner at Ward Hadaway
Professor Caron Gentry, Faculty Pro Vice Chancellor, Northumbria University
Tina Gray, Senior Leader within the Mayborn Organisation
Tania Love, Architect at FaulknerBrowns
Dr Mark Sealy, Director of Autograph
Carsten Staehr, Former CEO of Cintra HR& Payroll, Restaurant Owner and Entrepreneur
Professor Dame Janet Beer, British Academic and former Vice-Chancellor of University of Liverpool 
Professor Kieran Fernandes, Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor (Development & Engagement) Durham University 
Dr. Val Barron, Lead Development Worker, Communities Together Durham 


Serving food
Kids at Baltic
Baltic Crew member speaking to visitor
Two Baltic Crew members smiling
Purple graphic with orange hand symbol

Keep Baltic Free

We’ve stood for free entry for 21 years. Your donations will help us to safeguard the incredible free access to Baltic. 

Donate now.

Donate today