×

We stand to denounce racism in all its forms

If you would like to be added as a signee/point of contact please e-mail lucy.deprez@twmuseums.org.uk

Thursday 4 June 2020

We stand to denounce racism in all its forms.

We, the undersigned from the cultural sector of the North East, declare that silence is not ok and silence is seen as complicity. Racism has no place in a just and humane society.

Whilst we cannot undo pain and neglect, we are calling on all of us in the arts, cultural, heritage sectors; professional and voluntary to work together to address racism and its deep roots. We must listen, have conversations and most importantly act, we know we need to do better. Everyone is part of the solution - artists, staff, trustees, partners, promoters, audiences and communities.

We want to tackle this together in sharing better understanding and practices. We stand united to bring about change in our thinking and actions as a collective of organisations and individuals.

In the weeks and months to come we will collectively act to build on this statement with concrete steps and actions to demonstrate our commitment to bringing about real change. We ask you to stand with us.

We contacted as many organisations and individuals we could in a short space of time.

If you would like to join us in these future conversations please contact any of the points of contacts listed below to talk to individual organisations or individuals.

If you would like to be added as a signee/point of contact please e-mail lucy.deprez@twmuseums.org.uk

The Signees:

Alphabetti Theatre
Signee: Ali Pritchard, Artistic/Executive Director
Contact: ali@alphabettitheatre.co.uk

Ampersand Inventions
Signees: Jonpaul Kirvan FRSA / Peter Marchal, Directors
Contact: contact@ampersandinventions.com

Anna Robinson
Sceneographer
Contact: anna.fkrobinson@gmail.com

ARC Stockton
Signee: Annabel Turpin
Contact: Annabel.Turpin@arconline.co.uk

Arts and Health Network, North East
Signee: Katie Mitchell
Contact: ahnnortheast@gmail.com

Arts&Heritage
Stephanie Allen, Executive Director
Contact: info@artsandheritage.org.uk

Artist Union England
Signee: Theresa Easton
Contact: theresa@artistsunionengland.org.uk

Assembly Rooms Theatre Durham
Signee: Kate Barton
Contact: theatre.manager@durham.ac.uk

balletLORENT
Signee: Liv Lorent
Contact: liv@balletlorent.com

Blowin’ A Hooley Theatre
Contact: hooleytheatre@gmail.com

BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art
Signee: Sarah Munro, Director
Contact: Caroline Murphy, carolinem@balticmill.com

Ben Dickenson
Executive Producer, City of Dreams / Associate Literary Producer Alphabetti Theatre
Contact: benji.dickenson@gmail.com

Bensham Grove
Signee: Shirley Brown, Chair
Contact: Vikas Kumar, Vice Chair, vikas@gemarts.org

Beverley Prevatt Goldstein
Signee: Beverley Prevatt Goldstein
Contact: beverleyprevattgoldstein@gmail.com

Boiler Shop
Signee: Phil Barker, General Manager
Contact: info@stephensonworks.com

Bonnie & the Bonnettes
Signees: Hattie Eason, Cameron Sharp and Rebecca Glendenning, Co-Founders of Bonnie and The Bonnettes.
Contact: bonnieandthebonnettes@gmail.com

Brash
Signee: Bethan Kitchen, Artistic Director
Contact: bethan@brash-events.co.uk

Bridge+Tunnel Productions
Signee: Tina Gharavi, Creative Director
Contact: admin@bridgeandtunnelproductions.com

Butcher’s Dog Poetry Magazine
Signee: Dr. Jo Clement, Managing Editor

Camisado Club
Signee: Caroline Liversidge, Camisado Club
Contact: info@camisadoclub.co.uk

Centre for Life, Newcastle
Signee: Linda Conlon
Contact: Louise Ricardson louise.richardson@life.org.uk

Circus Central
Sarah Carrie, Operations Director
Contact: sarah@circuscentral.co.uk

Citizen Songwriters CIC
Signee: Sam Slatcher and Alex Summerson, Directors
Contact: info@citizensongwriters.org

Cobalt Studios
Contact: hello@cobaltstudios.co.uk

Comrades of Children Overseas (COCO)
Signee: Lucy Kendall
Contact: lucy@coco.org.uk

Company of Others
Signee: Nadia Iftkhar, Artistic Director & CEO
Contact: nadia@companyofothers.org.uk

The Common Room
Signee: Liz Mayes
Contact: Philippa.King-Williams@thecommonroom.org.uk

Converge at Northumbria
Signee: Ally Hunter Byron, Coordinator
Contact: Ally2.hunter@northumbria.ac.uk

Coracle Productions
Signee: Matt Jamie, Artistic Director Contact: Coracletheatre@gmail.com

Creative Seed
Contact: Sandy and Garner Harris, Founding Directors

The Culture Durham Partnership
Signed by Tony Harrington, chair
Contact – tony@intheforge.com

The Cultural Spring
Signee: Emma Horsman
emma.horsman@theculturalspring.org.uk

The Culture Vulture
Signee: Rachel Horton
Contact: horton1985@live.co.uk

Cumberland Arms
Signee: Jo Hodson
Contact: info@thecumberlandarsm.co.uk

Curious Arts
Signee: Phil Douglas, Director
Contact: Ellie Puckering ellie@curiousarts.org.uk

Curious Monkey
Signee: Amy Golding
Contact: amy@curiousmonkeytheatre.com

The Customs House
Signee: Ray Spenser
Contact: rayspencer@customshouse.co.uk

D6 Culture in Transit
Signee: Clymene Christoforou, Director

Dance City
Signee: Phil Douglas
Contact: Phil Douglas, phil.douglas@dancecity.co.uk

Degna Stone
Poet and editor

Dingy Butterflies CIC
Signee: Ben Jones, Founder & Director
Contact: dingybutterflies@gmail.com

Disconsortia
Signee: Lisette Auton, Co-founding Member
Contact: disconsortia@gmail.com

Dr. Sheree Mack
Creatrix
Contact: sheshemack@gmail.com

DrumDin
Signee: Carol Alevroyianni
Contact: calevroyianni@aol.com

East Durham Creates
Signees: Jess Hunt & Malcolm Fallow
Contact: jess.hunt@eastdurhamtrust.org.uk

Eliot Smith Dance (ESD)
Signee: Eliot Smith, Artistic Director
Contact: eliot@eliotsmithdance.com

Elizabeth Kane
Artist
Contact: Ekvisualartist@outlook.com

Empty Shop CIC
Signees: Carlo Viglianisi and Nick Malyan
Contact: nick@emptyshop.org

Event International
Signee: Frank Wilson
Contact: frank@eventi.co.uk

Explore Lifelong Learning
Signee: Dorothy Stainsby, Co-chair, Joseph Cowen Lifelong Learning Centre CIO
Contact: weareexplore@gmail.com

The Forge
Signee: Tony Harrington Executive Director
Contact – tony@intheforge.com

The Foundation of Light and Beacon of Light facility
Signee: Jamie Wright, Managing Director
Contact: jamie.wright@foundationoflight.co.uk

Gateway Studio CIO
Signee: Martin Hylton, Artistic Director/CEO
Contact: Martin Hylton, martin.hylton@gatewaystudioproject.co.uk

Gateshead Council
Signee: Councillor Angela Douglas, Cabinet Member for Culture, Sport and Leisure
Contact: EdnieWilson@Gateshead.Gov.Uk

GemArts
Signee: Vikas Kumar MBE, Director
Contact: Vikas Kumar, vikas@gemarts.org

Gobscure
Signee: Sean Burn
Contact: gobscure@posteo.net

Gosforth Civic Theatre
Contact: info@gosforthcivictheatre.co.uk

Greenfield Arts
Signee: Katy Milne
Contact: katy.milne@greenfieldschool.net

Harambee Pasadia CIC
Signee: Hannabiell Sanders
Contact: Hannabiell Sanders, harambeepasadia@gmail.com

Higgler
Signee: Chelsea Clarke, Founder
Contact: chelsea@higgler.shop

Holly Argent
Artist/ Researcher
Contact: holly.argent@live.co.uk

Hullabaloo Theatre
Signees: Miranda Thain, Chief Executive & Artistic Producer
Contact: mirandathain@theatrehullabaloo.org.uk

Ideas for Change Consulting
Signee: Sanjee Ratnatunga
Contact: sanjrat@yahoo.co.uk

Identity on Tyne
Signee: Project Coordinator
Contact: identityontyne@googlemail.com

The Invisible Labs
Signee: Bhavani Esapathi, Founding Director
Contact: bhaesa@gmail.com

Jack Drum Arts CIC
Signee: Helen Ward, Managing Director
Contact: helen@jackdrum.co.uk

Keep Our NHS Public North East (KONPNE)
Signee: Jude Letham
Contact: konpnortheast@gmail.com

Kitchen Zoo
Signee: Bob Nicholson
Contact: info.kitchenzoo@gmail.com

Kusoma African Book Club
Signee: Pauline Hughes (Plummer)
Contact: pauline.sonnet@blueyonder.co.uk

Ladies of Midnight Blue
Signee: Yilis Suriel
Contact: yilissuriel@gmail.com

Laura Fish
Writer and lecturer at Northumbria University
Contact: laura.fish@northumbria.ac.uk

The Letter Room
Signees: Meghan Doyle and Stan Hodgson, Co-Artistic Directors
Contact: info@theletterroomtheatre.co.uk

LGBT and fed North East
Signee: Phil Hayden
Contact: phil.hayden100@btinternet.com

Little Cog
Signee: Vici Wreford-Sinnott, Artistic Director
Contact: littlecog@rocketmail.com

Live Theatre
Signee: Jim Beirne, Chief Executive
Contact: joe@live.org.uk

Louise Evan Wong
Individual
Contact: louise@evanwong.co.uk

Luca Rutherford
writer + performer
Contact: luca.a.rutherford@gmail.com

Luxi
Signee: Caroline Pearce
Contact: cp@luxicreative.co.uk

Megan Brown
Dance Artist
Contact: meganjane1401@gmail.com

Melody Sproates
Artist/Performer

Middlesbrough Council Cultural buildings
Middlesbrough Town Hall, Middlesbrough Theatre, Middlesbrough Museums
Signee: Mieka Smiles, Executive Member for Culture, Middlesbrough Council.
Contact: Mieka_Smiles@middlesbrough.gov.uk

Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art (MIMA)
Signee: Laura Sillars, MIMA Director and Dean of MIMA School of Art & Design
Contact: S.Pearson@tees.ac.uk

Mortal Fools
Signee: Kiz Crosbie, Artistic Director/CEO
Contact: kiz@mortalfools.org.uk

Mslexia
Signee: Debbie Taylor, Editorial Director
Contact: debbie@mslexia.co.uk

Music Partnership North Newcastle
Signee: Georgina Biddle, Senior Specialist Music Service
Contact: georgina.bddle@newcastle.gov.uk

NEPN (North East Photography Network)
Signee: Amanda Ritson
Contact: ritson.amanda@gmail.com

Network Artists North East
Signee: Jo Liddle
Contact: admin@networkartists.org.uk

The NewBridge Project
Signee: Rebecca Huggan, Director
Contact: r.huggan@thenewbridgeproject.com

Newcastles of the World
Signee: David Faulkner
Contact: newcastlesoftheworld@gmail.com

Newcastle City Council Arts Team
Signee: Cllr Ged Bell (Cabinet Member for Culture)
Contact: Jim Mawdsley, Arts and Culture Senior Advisor, Jim.Mawdsley@newcastle.gov.uk

NewcastleGateshead Initiative
Signee: Shelley Johnson
Contact: shelley.johnson@ngi.org.uk

Newcastle Theatre Royal
Signee: Philip Bernays, Chief Executive
Contact: Deb.Dovinson@theatreroyal.co.uk

Newcastle University
Signee: Professor Julie Sanders, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Contact: Julie.sanders@ncl.ac.uk

New Writing North
Claire Malcolm, Chief Executive
Contact: office@newwritingnorth.com

North East Emerging Museum Professionals Group
Signee: Hannah Mather
Contact: neempgroup@gmail.com

North East of England African Community Association
Signee: Abdul-Aziz Kouamé
Contact: abdul.aziz.kouame@gmail.com

North East Culture Partnership
Signee: Matthew Jaratt
Contact: matthew.jarratt@neculturepartnership.co.uk

North East Labour History Society
Signee: David Connolly
Contact: davidconnolly124@hotmail.co.uk

Northumberland Theatres
Signee: Wendy Scott
Contact: wendy.scott02@northumberland.gov.uk

Northern Alchemy Brewery
Signee: Andrew AItchison
Contact: andy@wearenorthernalchemy.com

Northern Architectural History Society
Signee: Christopher Downs, Chair
Contact: enquiries@northernarchitecturalhistory.org.uk

Northern Heartlands
Signee: Jill Cole
Contact: jill.cole@northernheartlands.org

Northern Print
Signee: Anna Wilkinson, Director
Contact: anna@northernprint.org.uk

Northern Roots
Signee: Adam Collerton, Director
Contact: adam@northern-roots.org.uk

Northern Stage
Signee: Kate Denby, Executive Director
Contact: Mark Calvert, MCalvert@northernstage.co.uk

The Old Coal Yard
Signee: Carl Kennedy
Contact: theoldcoalyardncl@gmail.com

On Board Arts street theatre company
Signee: Nik Alevroyiannis, Artistic Director
Contact: info@onboardarts.com

One For All Productions
Signee: John MacMahon, Creative Director
Contact: oneforallproductions@outlook.com

OGRE
Signee: Steven Walker, Creative Director

Open Clasp
Signees: Joint Chief Executives Catrina McHugh MBE / Ellie Turner
Contacts: catrina@openclasp.org.uk, ellie@openclasp.org.uk

Orbis
Signees: Jonpaul Kirvan FRSA, Paul Stone, Chris Yeats

Origin Moko Jumbies
Signee: Alan Vaughan
Contact: alanpvaughan@gmail.com

Paco Rivera
Musician
Contact: pacorivera54@hotmail.com

Pippa Kyle
Individual
Contact: phillippakyle@live.co.uk

The Poetry Book Society
Signee: Sophie O’Neill
Contact: Sophie@inpressbooks.co.uk

Prometheus Foundation CIC
Signee: Dot Owston

SALTo Arts Productions
Signee: Richard Broderick
Contact: brodsalto@gmail.com

Sage Gateshead
Signee: Abigail Pogson, Director
Contact: Wendy Smith, wendy.smith@sagegateshead.com

Sangini
Signee: Padma Rao

Sensory Spaces, Newcastle
Contact: sensoryspaces@hotmail.co.uk

Show Racism the Red Card
Signee: Justine King, Educational Coordinator
Email: justine@theredcard.org

Seventeen Nineteen
Signee: Lily Daniels, Participation and Engagement Officer
Contact: ldaniels@thecct.org.uk

Seven Stories
Signee: John Coburn
Contact: Amanda Beckham, amanda.beckham@sevenstories.org.uk

Side By Side Arts CIC
Signee: Stuart Angus, Director
Contact: stuart@sidebysidearts.org

The Six Twenty
Signee: Melanie Rashbrooke, Artistic Director
Contact: thesixtwenty@gmail.com

Skimstone Arts
Signee: Claire Webster-Saaramets, Director
Contact: claire@skimstone.org.uk

Slugtown
Signees: Max Lee and Matt Antoniak, Co-directors

Streetwise Young People’s Project
Signee: Mandy Coppin (Taylor)

Society of Antiquaries of Newcastle upon Tyne
Signee: Nick Hodgson
Contact: secretary@newcastle-antiquaries.org.uk

Success4All
Signee: Caroline Afolabi-Deleu
Contact: caroline@s4a.org.uk

Sue Ward
Researcher
Contact: sue.ward@phonecoop.coop

Sue Woolhouse MA RCA
Artist, Ouseburn Warehouse Workshops
Contact: sue@suewoolhouse.com

Summer Streets Festival
Signee: Ross Millard
Contact: hello@summerstreetsfestival.com

Sunderland Culture
Signees: Helen Connify and Graeme Thompson
Contact: Helen.Connify@sunderland.ac.uk, graeme.thompson@sunderland.ac.uk

Sunderland Music Hub
Signee: Lizzie Nixon
Contact: sunderland.music@togetherforchildren.org.uk

Susan Ashley
AHRC Researcher
Contact: susan.ashley@northumbria.ac.uk

Theatre Sans Frontieres
Signee: Sarah Kemp
Contact: sarah@tsf.org.uk

Thinking/Practice
Signee: Mark Robinson
Contact: info@thinkingpractice.co.uk

Tees Valley Arts
Signee: James Beighton, Executive Director
Contact: james@teesvalleyarts.org.uk

Tin Arts
Signee: Martin Wilson, Executive Director
Contact: martin@tinarts.co.uk

Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums
Signee: Iain Watson, Director
Contact: Bill Griffiths, bill.griffiths@twmuseums.org.uk

Tyne and Wear Cultural Freelancers
Signee: Leila d’Aronville
Contact: Leila.daronville@gmail.com

Twisterella Festival
Signees: Andy Carr and Henry Carden
Contact: info@twisterella.co.uk

Unfolding Theatre
Signees: Michael Barrass, Alex Elliott, Garry Lydon, Annie Rigby and Luca Rutherford
Contact: annie@unfoldingtheatre.co.uk

VAMOS!
Signee: Nikolas Barrera
Contact: nikolasbarrera@gmail.com

Voices of Virtue Gospel Choir
Signees: Mathapelo Imarhiagbe, Chinyere Igun, Glen Smiley

Waka Waka Africa North East
Signee: David Fualkner
Contact: wakawakaafricanortheast@sky.com

Well Newcastle Gateshead
Signee: Mark Mulqueen, Programme Director
Contact: mark@bluestoneconsortium.org.uk

We Make Culture CIC
Signee: Laura Brewis, Project Director
Contact: laura@wemakeculture.co.uk

Women Artists of the North East Library
Signee: Holly Argent, Project lead
Email: womenartistsnelibrary@gmail.com

Workplace and Workplace Foundation
Signee: Miles Thurlow
Contact: miles@workplacefoundation.art

VARC
Signee: Helen Pailing
Contact: helen@varc.org.uk

Yvette Ja Hawkins
Visual Artist
Contact: yvettehawkins@gmail.com